the floating world

drifting towards a certain oblivion

FILMS: Snowpiercer (2014)

Be warned, this is not a proper film review. This is more of a very informal and confused thought train (oh hah, pun of the day) in an attempt to de-Nicolas Cage this 2 hour spectacle.

SPOILERS UNDER THE CUT: I’m just going to assume that you watched it because I really don’t care.

Ok. Here is mind map. Please excuse me because it is 3:28 am on a Monday and I’m just blogging about this because this film baffles and bothers me to no end.

Movie: Snowpiercer
Cast: Chris Evans, Jamie Bell, Octavia Spencer, Tilda Swinton, etc, etc.

My opinions:
Plot: Premise was clear and novel enough. What you thought was a typical dystopian movie turned very different once it actually started moving though. At first it felt very predictable but in the duration of the movie I began questioning everything that was happening. Maybe it was because of very weird (albeit small) elements scattered all over the whole film that really threw me off. In the middle of the movie I wanted to step out of the theatre but the sheer curiosity of finding out what the fuck was on the edge of that goddamn train made me sit back down.

Characters: I think this was the star of the film. Characters were unpredictable though they seemed otherwise, and I definitely agree on the casting. There are just lots of unnecessary people that seemed very out of place and/or cliched? Like parkour dude, russian assassin bros, etc.

Dialogue: Very, very confusing at some parts. Dragging and boring in most. Exception would I guess be from the eccentric characters. That whole cannibalism tangent at the end was fucking confusing. I did like the ~Platonic~ sermon by Ed Harris though.

Direction:?????

OKAY YOU KNOW WHAT I’M TOO SLEEPY FOR THIS.
all i want to say is that i am terribly baffled to as to why critics seem to love this– i personally thought that the film bit off more than it could chew. Resulted in ugly hodgepodge of tropes, weird characters and terribly long screen time. In retrospect I guess I was wrong about the characters at first bc now I do welcome the eccentricities and I applaud the growth and devt, but all of the other factors were just SABOGGGGGG

LIKE ME ATM

U KNOW WHAT I GOT NO TIME FOR THIS IM SLEEPY

sorry y’all